For Immediate Release
Contact: Brian Wilcox
410-272-4000 ext. 3114

EDGEWOOD, Md., April 10, 2020 — Aberdeen Proving Ground Federal Credit Union (APGFCU) is proud to announce the winners of its annual scholarship competition. This year, APGFCU is awarding $68,000 to 34 worthy recipients.

The scholarship program is open to high school students anticipating spring graduation; continuing students of a college, trade school, or certificate program; and adults returning to a college, trade school, or certificate program.

Applicants were asked to respond to the question, “APGFCU embraces the cooperative principle of providing education, training, and information to empower its members to improve their financial well-being. How would you go about reaching and educating young adults on financial wellness? Describe the kinds of tools and resources you would provide” through a written essay, video or photo.

The following high school seniors are receiving scholarships:

Marina Bennett                    Aberdeen High School

Samuel Boin                       Homeschool

Elianna Bolton                     Aberdeen High School

Valerie Burke                      Fallston High School

Lane Crofton                       Fallston High School

Hannah Donohue                 Fallston High School

Alexander Flasch                  Fallston High School

Katherine Foy                      Aberdeen High School

Taylor Gasior                      Bel Air High School

Isabela Gomez                     The Catholic High School of Baltimore

Esme Hansing                     South Lakes High School

Cole Higgins                        C. Milton Wright High School

Kaylyn Jennings                  North East High School

Ethan Jew                          C. Milton Wright

Bradley Lembach                 Homeschool

Emily Linz                           Aberdeen High School

Katerina Lomis                     Patterson Mill High School

Alexander Rawlett                Edgewood High School

Lauren Reich                       C. Milton Wright High School

Renae Stamas                     Notre Dame Preparatory School

Connor Streibich                  Patterson Mill High School

Brooke Walz                        Bohemia Manor High School

Bruce Webb                        Joppatowne High School

Christopher Wehberg           Edgewood High School


The following individuals are receiving scholarships as a returning student or a continuing education adult.

Samantha Fruhling               University of Maryland Global Campus

Taylor Gallihue                    University of Maryland

Julie Gephardt                     Regent University

Julie Hagis                          Notre Dame of Maryland University

Gina Handley                      Cecil College

Kit Lombard                        Washington and Lee University

Grace Martino                     University of Maryland

Joshua Oltarzewski               Harford Community College

Lauren Pahutski                   Towson University

Katherine Smith                   Mount St. Mary's University


The 34 winning candidates will each receive a $2,000 scholarship from APGFCU for a total of $68,000 in awards. Scholarship recipients will be recognized at the APGFCU annual meeting, which has been postponed to the third quarter of 2020 in response to the current social distancing guidelines.

APGFCU is a leader in financial literacy programs designed to help young members develop successful money management skills through programs like STARSS — Students, Teens, and young Adults Reaching Success through Savings. The program offers account benefits for teens and college-age APGFCU members. The benefits are automatic and grouped by three ages, each with expanding financial features.  

For more information about APGFCU’s financial education initiatives and scholarships, visit or call 410-272-4000.

APGFCU is committed to building strong families for a stronger community with locations throughout Harford and Cecil counties. Membership is free and open to everyone who lives, works, worships, volunteers or attends school in Harford or Cecil County. For more information, call 410-272-4000 or visit