For Immediate Release
Contact: Brian Wilcox
410-272-4000 ext. 3114

EDGEWOOD, Md., June 17, 2019 — Aberdeen Proving Ground Federal Credit Union (APGFCU) is proud to announce the winners of its annual scholarship competition. This year, APGFCU awarded $67,000 to 36 worthy recipients.

The scholarship presentation was part of the APGFCU annual meeting, Thursday, April 10, 2019, at the APG Federal Credit Union Arena at Harford Community College. As part of APGFCU’s goal to help all members achieve, prosper and grow, the credit union expanded its scholarship program for 2019 to include returning students and adults continuing their education.

Applicants were asked to respond to the question, “How do you put the people helping people philosophy into action in your own life?” through a written essay, video or photo.

The following high school seniors received scholarships:                                                                                          

Geneva Brown                            Bohemia Manor High School

Hannah Cillo                               C. Milton Wright High School

Alexis Ferguson                         Bishop O’Connell High School

Julia Foster                                 North Harford High School

Julie Gephardt                           Homeschool

Zachary Grzymala                     North Harford High School

Kaitlyn Hall                                  Aberdeen High School

Nathaniel Hricz                          Bel Air High School

Jadyn Jeffers                             Harford Technical High School

Hunter Madron                           Perryville High School

Kaylynn Kregel                           Fallston High School

Kit Lombard                                Bel Air High School

Brent Lorin                                 Bel Air High School

Joshua Oltarzewski                 Harford Technical High School

Kathryn Perrault                       Edgewood High School

Jenna Ranney                           Bel Air High School

Christopher Robinson             North Harford High School

Nathan Sellers                           Fallston High School

Katherine Smith                        The John Carroll School

Rebekah Taylor                          Fallston High School

Alexandra Tomarchio               Havre de Grace High School

Julian Vazquez                          Bel Air High School

Antony Vu                                  Bel Air High School

The following individuals received a scholarship as a returning student or a continuing education adult.        

Jamie Bunce                             Community College of Baltimore County, Dundalk

Patricia Cataggio                      Harford Community College

Shantelle Dunlap                      Thomas Jefferson University, East Falls

Chloe Fretz                                 Gwynedd Mercy University

Taylor Gallihue                           University of MD

Jackson Leith                            University of MD, College Park

Emily Martin                               Towson University

Olivia McPhee                            University of MD

Allison Mosley                            Towson University

Lauren Peery                              Towson University

Julia Swoboda                            University of MD, College Park

Caitlin Tassone                           Salisbury University

John Vu                                       University of MD, Baltimore County

“I am so grateful to have been selected once again for the APGFCU scholarship,” stated returning student, Julia Swoboda. “The credit union is what spurred my interest and led me to major in finance, and eventually pursue a career in investment banking. The support I have received from the same institution that fostered my exploration of the financial world has been a blessing.”

APGFCU is a leader in financial literacy programs designed to help young members develop successful money management skills through programs like STARSS — Students, Teens and young Adults Reaching Success through Savings. The program offers account benefits for teens and college-age APGFCU members. The benefits are automatic and grouped by three ages, each with expanding financial features.  

For more information about APGFCU’s financial education initiatives and scholarships, visit or call 410-272-4000.


CAPTION: APGFCU awards $67,000 in scholarships

Pictured left to right, top row: Antony Vu; Zachary Grzymala; Patricia Cataggio, Christopher Robinson, Nathaniel Hricz; Joshua Oltarzewski, Nathan Sellers; Kaylynn Kregel,

Middle row: Geneva Brown, Julian Vazquez, Jenna Ranney; Emily Martin; Julie Gephardt; Allison Mosley; Jadyn Jeffers; Julia Foster; Olivia McPhee; Kaitlyn Hall.

Front row:  Hannah Cillo; Kathryn Perrault; Chloe Fretz; Brent Lorin; Rebekah Taylor; Kit Lombard; Lauren Peery; Alexandra Tomarchio; Katherine Smith.

Not pictured: Shantelle Dunlap; Taylor Gallihue; Jackson Leith; Julia Swoboda; Caitlin Tassone; John Vu.

APGFCU is committed to building strong families for a stronger community with 14 branches in Harford and Cecil counties. Membership is free and open to everyone who lives, works, worships, volunteers or attends school in Harford or Cecil County. For more information, call 410-272-4000 or visit